So Much Good Music!

Standard

I love music and I love discovering new music. Usually it comes by way of recommendation, or as a soundtrack to a movie, but I especially love it when I stumble upon it.

Yesterday, I decided to take the afternoon off from work. My job is that cool 🙂 And I wasn’t supposed to go straight home, or pig out on the couch and watch BET (I barely ever watch Tv, let alone BET). But I thought, let’s see what the big deal is with 106 & Park.

And I saw him perform: B.o.B, aka Bobby Ray. I fell instantly in like with his music. The album is called The Adventures of Bobby Ray and is as full of diverse talented collaborations as a music lover could take! He works with everyone from  Lil’ C (from So you think you can dance), Hayley from Paramore, Janelle Monae, to Eminem, T.I., Lupe Fiasco and some new cats as well.

The music is tight. He has a good flow that reminds of Lupe Fiasco. I especially like rappers that do sick word plays, but I havent yet listened keenly enough to know if he does.

Then there’s K’Naan‘s Troubadour album. I was hesitant to jump on the K’naan bandwagon.  I liked this cat’s music from the Soobax days when he was just a skinny Somali boy yelling in an unintelligible (to many people) language. And then Dusty Foot Philosopher came out and everyone I knew was dick-riding! But hate as I tried, you can’t deny good music!

On a recent trip to Entebbe, my friends and I had Troubadour on repeat and that shit got under my skin. And I was glad. It’s amazing stuff, World Cup song aside (UBC has ruined that one for me). My favorites to repeat are T.I.A and Fatima.

There’s Drake; who is taking his time with his first LP (Thank Me Later) but good things come to those who wait. ‘Over’ and a couple other tracks have already leaked, and I ain’t complaining 🙂

Go forth, download this shit, enjoy and, uh, Thank Me Later!

Leave a Reply

