Being An Adult…

Standard

… kind of sucks and is highly overrated. As with most things we wait impatiently for in life, it just does not live up to its hype. I remember as a kid, begrudgingly complying with whatever a grown-up had told me to do, I would swear under my breath and think I could not wait for when I was a grown up too, bossing people around and not having to play nice/go to bed early/ wear the frilly dress and not the jeans/go to school, etc.

I just didn’t think I would have to boss myself around; or at least I didn’t think it would be this hard. The problem mostly is that somewhere along the way I became a serial procrastinator and managed to convince myself that as long as everything gets done eventually, it’s okay to slack off here and there.

Here I am, a 20-something grown-ass person with Important Adult Things to do, but somehow, I find ways to avoid said responsibilities. I’ll need to return phonecalls and emails, and find myself blogging or facebooking. Pending trip to the bank? I am derailed by a shiny book display along the way. I promise to contribute to people’s lives in positive ways (donations and other activities), and I slack off. Friends’ wedding meetings, and I magically find myself sitting in my favorite bar, drinking and watching a game.

I even have a Procrastination Spiral. (I have a lot of Spirals, e.g. Sneaky Hate Spiral). Something Important comes up. I know I have to do it, but I put it off for what seems like a reasonable time (an hour, half a day) promising to get it done as soon as I have eaten this sandwich, bought some airtime, listened to this album … or some such trivial but seemingly-LifeandDeath-at-the-time activity. Finish activity. Important Thing rears its head, bellowing for my attention. By now, I am feeling a lot guilty and I resolve to do it. I get started, but I am consumed by self-loathing and disgust at my laziness and I put it off until I’m “feeling better”.

I am an adult, and yet I still need to grow the fuck up. Urgh.

Allie, my favorite blogger, illustrates it thus:

How do I stop being such a slacker?

13 responses »

    • 😀 that makes some sense – coz that way any small achievement is celebrated as a feat!
      But I want to have high standards, I want to be an annoying over-achiever, too!

  1. It happens to the best of us.. being productive 8 hours or more a day is impossible. Thank God for the little joys aka Facebook, blogs and youtube that help us unwind and relax in between work and after the day is done.
    Speaking of youtube, here’s a little something to cheer you up.. 🙂

    • *DEAD!!!! That is one athletic baby – i dont know many people who can dance for 3 minutes straight! And the gyrating LOL… i love the Elvis Presley-hand-swings! Thanks for the cheering, Vic 🙂

    • Ah, yes I used to read Scotchie often before I went AWOL. Let me visit again.
      Hm, I think I may have taken my procrastination to a whole nother level. I shall try to bring it back down to Normal.

  2. I honestly think it’s a product of needing to be entertained 24/7, which is how our generation (current 20-somethings) were raised.

    • i cant even remember the name of the blog, it was so far back! I remember it was blogspot though. Hmm, let me try and google myself and see if it comes up lol

Leave a Reply

